About Myanmar

Formerly known as Burma, Myanmar is recognized by the world as the Golden Land for its numerous pagodas and temples scattered all parts of the country.

It is said that the Myanmar People are descendents of Tibeto-Burman migrants who entered the land from the northwest and Mon-Khmer People who entered from the southeast. However the discovery of fossils in the central Myanmar suggests that the inhabitants may have evolved from the primate ancestors who were already in site.

The First Myanmar Empire was founded in the 11th century in the central plains by King Anawarahta. Flourishing of Theravada Buddhism in this country today and temples dotted plain of Bagan are due to his effort. BaganKindom fell to ruin in the late 13th century. The second Myanmar Empire was founded in the 16th century by King Tabin Shwe Hti and brought the empire to higher greatness by his brother-in-law King Bayint Naung. The Third Myanmar Empire was founded by King Alaungpaya and within a few years of his reign, the empired spread far to the east, west and south. Myanmar fell completely into British in 1885 and the last monarch of King Thibaw and his family who were exiled to India.

In 1948, the nation won independence and became sovereign, as the Union of Burma, with U Nu as the first Prime Minister. That was a short and chaotic period of democracy followed with revolutions and rebellions breaking out the country. Democratic rule ended in 1962 with a military led by General Ne Win who ruled for nearly 26 years under socialist rule. Mismanagement of the economy brought poverty to the land which was once the richest in the region. After the rebellion of People with no work and no chances in 1988, Tatmadaw has taken control of the country as State Peace and Development Council.

The new capital, Nay Pyi Daw, was announced by Tamadaw in November 2005. In 2007, the first step of a seven-stage road map for a transition to democracy is completed by the National Convention. According to the result of 2010 election, the country was led by President U Thein Sein until early 2016 and was stepping energetically into the different world.LastMyanmar general elections were held on 8 November 2015. These were the first openly contested elections held in Myanmar since 1990. The results gave the National League for Democracy an absolute majority of seats in both chambers of the national parliament, enough to ensure that its candidate would become president, while NLD leader Aung San SuuKyi is constitutionally barred from the presidency.The resounding victory of Aung San Suu Kyi's National League for Democracy in 2015 general elections has raised hope for a successful political transition from a closely held military rule to a free democratic system. This transition is widely believed to be determining the future of Myanmar.

General facts

  •   Area: 

676,578 sq km (261,227 sq miles). 

  •   Population:

54,363,426 (UN estimate 2016). 

  •   Population density:

83.2 per sq km. 

  •   Border countries: 

Bangladesh, China, India, Laos, Thailand 

  •   Capital:

Nay Pyi Taw 

  •   Government:


  •   Head of state: 

President Win Myint since 2018. 

  •   Head of government:

President Win Myint since 2018.